ABCs of horror

“It was a leather bound book with no title on it. Carol was the first to pick up the book and open it. ‘THE BOOK IS CURSED’ was mentioned on the first page of the book and it was followed by 25 different stories that they had just finished reading.”

Imagine that you are in your room and suddenly the lights of your room start flickering and finally all the lights turn off. There is darkness all around and you are not able to figure out how to react or what to do next. You just sit still at the spot and the moment you turn backward you witness a ghost. A scary incident indeed. ABCs of Horror by Anmol Rawat is a collection of 26 horror based short stories that entraps the readers into the world of ghosts, spirits, witches and black magic.

ABCs of Horror is a collection of ghastly tales that binds different forms of terrors together in a riveting narrative, which feels as real as the entity sitting right behind you when you are home alone, getting freaked out by even a gust of air. There is a dreadful treasure here for every reader: haunted houses, rise of the Devil, paranormal sightings, Voodoo, and much more. The author has put together promising stories for every alphabet that are guaranteed to scare you out of your wits and question the presence of the supernatural. Pick up the book as the night crawls by for feeling those chills creeping up your skin and your heart beating out of your chest.

The book consists of 26 short stories. Atheist revolved around two friends Alex and Chris. Alex who was an atheist didn’t believe in God or ghosts until he encounters the most ghastly experience of his life that changes his life forever. Bloody Mary is the story of a young girl Susan who was fed up with the taunts and comments passed on by her cousins. She endures the most horrific pain the day she is compelled to play the Bloody Mary game by her cousins. The Circle Of Life is the story of a couple. Hannah and Amy collide with an old lady while driving the car on their way to a hotel. On the confirmation of her life and health, the old woman invites them to her home where they perceive the most shocking elements. Devil Walks Among Us revolves around Jessica and his son who are admitted to a hospital due to the severe injuries after the accident. Unaware of the real intentions of Helena and the doctors of the hospital, Jessica hands over her son to them for treatment. Enter With Caution is the story of a married couple and their young daughter Angela. Jenny and David were having a great time until they meet a young child who informs them about the peculiar incidents that took place when he went into a ghost house with his parents. Frozen is a short story about a team of friends who were busy creating a documentary when they witness the most horrifying moments of their lives. Ghost On Tape revolves around four friends who were found of shooting fake spooky documentaries for their channel Ghost On Tape until they encounter a real ghost during their shoot. Hellbound is a ghastly tale that features Brian and Mr. and Mrs. Thomas. The couple announces a key hunt competition in which the winner gets a reward of ten thousand dollars. The only thing that the participants were asked to do was to enter into the haunted villa and search for the key. Brian walks in confidently and continues to brag and tease people until he gets the most shocking surprise of his life. In Lieu Of is the story of a two married people- Holden and Grace. Their lives enter a very pessimistic stage the day Grace suffers from a miscarriage. Justified revolves around a girl who gets stuck on an island all alone. The Killer Doll is the story of a sweet doll Nancy and Leona who receives Nancy as a gift from her cousin Fiona. She devotes her life’s entire love to Nancy until she gets marks on her hand from a knife that was held by Nancy. Let Me In is the haunted story that revolves around a boy who was cursed by a nightmare and receives alarming shocks when he hears someone knocking the door and commands him to let him in. Mine is a story that features Sam, who was enduring a secluded life. His life takes a major turnover when he confesses the deepest secret of his life to his girlfriend Selina. Nightmare is the story of an unknown narrator who is disturbed by one a nightmare. Ordinance is the story of a girl who gets trapped by a few kidnappers. She gets surprised by the way the kidnappers treat her unaware of the fate that was waiting for her ahead. Planchette revolves around four friends- Rhea, Flora, Dean and Liam. Flora gets the biggest shock of her life the day she plays planchette with her friends in the absence of her parents. Quiet is the story of a young child Dennis and a man who lived next to his house. Unaware of the real identity of the man Dennis one day enter his homestead only to get the most ghastly fear of his life. Reincarnation is the story of Alan who encounters a peculiar nightmare in which he is followed by someone mysterious and unidentifiable. Sinister is the story of a married couple. Joanne and Aaron receive mysterious nightmares regularly that makes them wonder about their connection with the dagger. The Last Lullaby revolves around Maria who seeks revenge from Michelle for her husband Daniel’s murder. Unworthy is the story about an unknown woman who is taken advantage of by a man while she is drunk. Voodoo is the story of the Myth Breakers team who create documentaries on various issues mostly concerned with disbeliefs of the human beings. Witch is the story of Ashley Scarlett and Clay in which Ashley suspects Scarlett to be a witch and stalks her with his friend Clay to witness uneven secret of Scarlett’s life. X-Mas revolves around a young child Taylor who abhors Christmas as it was the day when his father died. Yours Forever revolves around Paige and her husband Dexter in which Paige regrets the decision she took in her past life. Last, but not the least, Zapped In is the story of a few friends who get hold of a spooky book without any title consisting of 25 short stories that turn 26 the day they experience the most horrific moment of their lives.
The language was very simple. The narrative style was very addictive. The author has very well created a spooky atmosphere throughout the book. The stories were well crafted with flawless dialogues and presentation. The cover and the title of the book reveal the spooky elements of the book and very well justify the theme of the book. All the stories started on a note of suspense and ended with surprising twists. The stories were very well connected with the genre of the book. I somewhere felt that the story ‘The Last Lullaby’ was not as ghastly as the other stories. I considered it as a story of revenge rather than a horror story. Overall the book offered me a thrilling and spooky ride and gave me goosebumps throughout. I recommend this book to all those who want to enter into a thrilling world of horror.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s